Skyway Running

I was feeling like a newbie again running the Condura Skyway Marathon 2011. I remember running my first Condura race back in 2008 – fresh from my first US stint and carrying a few extra pounds. I had the same excitement (and extra pounds?) in 2008 coming into the starting line last Sunday morning. It was my first race for the year and it is my first time to run the skyway.

For someone who has joined several running events outside the Philippines, I must say that the Condura Skyway Marathon 2011 is very much at par with the big running events in the US and Canada. The event lived up to it’s claim of being a race organized by passionate runners for fellow runners. Great job to the organizers and to the Concepcion brothers!

How did I fare? Not as I expected but I wasn’t there to break a PR nor to race. I was there to experience the Philippine running community which I missed dearly. I was happy to see familiar faces again although I’m not sure if they still recognize me (with my extra pounds…hehe). Hopefully next year, I am more prepared and I could do the full marathon.

I’m back Manila! You’ll be seeing more of me on the road.

6 thoughts on “Skyway Running

  1. RUNNING DIVA says:

    Good to see you back! πŸ˜€

  2. kulitrunner says:

    welcome backkkkkk!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

  3. Earl Santos says:

    Good afternoon po!

    On behalf of the UP Industrial Engineering Club, we would like to invite you to LuntiRUN, an event for the benefit of the Isko Cleans UP, a project to implement solid waste management in the University of the Philippines – Diliman.

    It would be held on March 27, 2011 at Filinvest, Alabang.

    You may register online at register online at http://runnersrunner.com/luntirun

    or visit our fb page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/LuntiRUN/173271916044025

    Thank you po and Godbless!

  4. Nessa Nadal says:

    Hi there! I am Nessa Nadal from the University of the Philippines – Diliman. My organization (Industrial Engineering Club) is holding an event, Luntirun, for the benefit of the Isko Cleans UP, a project to implement solid waste management in the University of the Philippines – Diliman. Here are the details:

    The University of the Philippines Industrial Engineering Club, Asia Brewery and Rexona
    invite you to join

    LUNTIRUN
    Make every route greener
    on March 27, 2011
    in Filinvest Corporate City, Alabang

    Distances:
    1.5km (for 12 years old and below)/ 3km / 6km / 12km

    Registration fee:
    1.5km – 300php // 3km – 350php // 6km – 400php // 12km – 450php
    (RACE KIT includes: Event Singlet, Race bib and stub for 20% off on regular priced New Balance item)

    You may also register online at http://runnersrunner.com/luntirun
    Check out our FACEBOOK page at http://facebook.com/luntirun

    Other registration sites are:
    – SECONDWIND stores (45 Malingap St. Teachers Village, QC || Ortigas Home Depot, PASIG CITY)
    – NEW BALANCE shops (Festival Mall, Alabang || Shangri-la Plaza); Saturdays and Sundays
    – BIKE KING PHILIPPINES (Bonifacio High Street)

    – MJ46 Factory Outlet (Bicutan)

    – The Village Sports Club (BF Homes ParaΓ±aque)

    (Registration is until March 20 only!)

    If you have friends (especially those from the south) that you think might be interested, please do tell them about Luntirun. Thank you very much! Keep running! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

