Out Sick

Summer has been beautiful here in Seattle. It’s only in the last 2 weeks that we had rain which is the usual Seattle fall weather. According to a weather forecast here, the last heavy rains we got were remnants of typhoon Parma. After leaving the Philippines this typhoon decided to visit Seattle huh?

For the past 3 weeks, my runs were limited to 10Ks every Saturday and Sunday. And last Saturday, I still ran despite the rain. I love running in the rain but here it’s a different story. Fast forward to Monday. I woke up feeling heavy and tired. Only  two hours after I started working I was already feeling drowsy and could barely keep my eyes opened. I decided to leave the office after lunch and work from home.

I woke up Tuesday not feeling any better. One of my officemate sent me a link to symptoms of seasonal flu and swine flu via instant messenger. Not swine flu please. Not this time. US Half Marathon and Seattle Marathon (and Friday night hangouts…hehe). These were the thoughts running through my mind. Going home after work, I dropped by a market to buy pho soup and NyQuil. I was knocked down 30 minutes after taking NyQuil.

I woke up this morning feeling a lot better. I was supposed to do a Thursday run to catch up with my training but would skip it to fully recover. US Half Marathon is 10 days away. Guess I would say goodbye to a 21K PR and just take it easy.

8 thoughts on “Out Sick

  1. DATC says:

    Get well soon Wilbert. Think of it as an opportunity to rest your legs and taper for your races.

  2. run unltd. says:

    Get well and rest easy, its the main priority. Mahirap pag nagkasakit, mahirap bumalik.

  3. bards says:

    full recovery will serve you better. get well … quick!

  4. m8parco says:

    Wilbert – Just rest. All your training won’t go away. You just might surprise yourself with a good half marathon.

    Regards Mark & Tiffin

Leave a Reply

