Seward Park

seward-park-0191

Yesterday, I registered myself for the Mercer Island Half Marathon on March 22. In the hopes of improving my Adidas KOTR 21K time, I will be running long distances again starting today. My longest run since I got here was 10kms and there is no way I could finish a half with only that as my base.

When I woked up this morning, I got disappointed when I looked outside. It was dark and there was a slight drizzle. I already psyched myself the night before to run long early in the morning. I decided to just hear mass earlier than usual (and pray for the rain to stop =P) and do my run after. It was a good decision as the drizzle stopped and the sun showed up from time to time.

seward-route

It was again cold today and I needed the help of my Nike fleece jacket for this run. The route was hilly but the views in Seward Park are spectacular. My favorite is the pebble beach where I rested and enjoyed the calmness of Lake Washington.

Going back to my apartment, I felt tired and hungry. I was tempted to take the bus home but resisted it. I stopped instead by Safeway market and bought a donut and energy drink. I managed to survive this 16km adventure but promised to do it again soon.

after stretching at Van Asselt Playground

after stretching at Van Asselt Playground

start of the 2.5 mile trail at Seward Park

start of the 2.5 mile trail at Seward Park

pebble beach

pebble beach

son and father

son and father

Mt. Ranier and Lake Washington

Mt. Rainier and Lake Washington

Seward Park - check!

Seward Park - check!

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Seward Park

  1. prometheuscometh says:

    nice views! where are all the other runners?

    running somewhere else i guess. i saw few runners this morning, walkers marami.

  2. bards says:

    yey! a half! a half! same day as condura pa.

    teka sino ang photographer mo dito?

    yep. i will be running virtually with you guys. ako lang kumuha niyan. i brought my camera. 🙂

  3. run unltd. says:

    Wow, cool. Hanap ka ng katakbuhan mo jan, para mas adventurous.

    medyo winter mode pa yung mga tao dito pero for sure i’ll be meeting new friends soon.

  4. bobby says:

    isipin mo na lang na nasa condura ka hehehe…ambilis mo na talaga, biruin mo, ikaw lang kumuha ng pix mo. paano ginawa mo, pagclick sabay takbo into position? hanep, naunahan mo yung shutter ng cam wahahaha…

    hahaha…sounds familiar. maganda rin yung route sa mercer island – run around the island. siya yung higus footprint sa mapa

  5. BRO J says:

    Hanep sa porma! Nice shots! Keep on running!

    thanks 🙂

  6. sundaywarrior says:

    Ei Wilbert nice pics, are you based in Tacoma? have plans to go there May 1-3, just in case I’ll hook up with you for a long run..

    thanks Chito. I’m based in Seattle but Tacoma is just a bus ride away.

Leave a Reply

