Green Lake Aftermath

So after last Saturday’s run at Green Lake, I went to one of the known running store here Super Jock ‘n Jill. Actually I had two agenda for going to Super Jock n Jill – to get a new pair of shoes and to register for my first race here!

Entering the store, I immediately saw the registration booth for St. Patrick’s Day Dash. St. Patrick’s Day Dash is a yearly event in downtown Seattle to celebrate the arrival of spring and the “Irish in us all”. It will be held on March 15 and the course is 3 3/4 mile. After filling up the form I was asked by the guy maning the booth on which wave will I be participating. Two waves are timed – Green Wave for racers and Red Wave for runners/joggers. Still wearing my “new running gear”, I asked back how fast are the participants in Green Wave. He smiled and replied you should sign-up for Green Wave. And so I did!

Now that there is no turning back on what I had signed up for, I turned my attention to the running shoes on display. Immediately one of the store attendants asked if I needed some help. I told him I am interested in getting a new pair of shoes. He asked me to run to the door so he could see how I run and make recommendations. Upon returning, he noticed something is wrong with my right foot and I told him about my plantar fasciitis. He left and cameback with four boxes of shoes.

long sleeve shirt, race bib and timing chip

long sleeve shirt, race bib and timing chip

He asked me to try first a Nike Pegasus and an Asics and take them for a spin outside! I could not believe that they would actually ask a customer to take the shoes out and do a test drive errr run. Talk about customer service! I ran a few meters on a short hill outside the store and came back with favorable results towards the Asics. He asked me to compare a Mizuno shoe which I liked compared with the Asics. And finally, I tried on Brooks GTS 8 which I loved because it provided the right fit and cushioning to my heel. I went home happy not only with my upcoming race but also with my new running shoes. šŸ™‚

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 8

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 8

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “Green Lake Aftermath

  1. Jay says:

    The guy manning the booth looked at you and thought ” Hmmm…this guy looks like he can break 55 minutes!”

    dapat 50 di ba? hahaha

  2. run unltd. says:

    Ganda ng shoes mo, imported. Kwidaw ka, di mo alam may tracking device yung mga pina-try sa yo, buti ibinalik mo, hehe. Good luck on your upcoming race, Green Lantern.

    pagtinakas mo yung sapatos naiisip ko na hahabulin ka nila eh mukhang mabibilis na runners yung nasa store.

  3. iba talaga ang running world in US of A! Kakainggit! Enjoy your first race there!

    thanks Dennis. meron pang isang race dito. half marathon naman. i’ll have to wait and see kung kaya ko.

  4. lonerunner says:

    Bro, favor naman. mga few hours before ka bumalik sa pinas sa Nov balikan mo yun store tpos sabihen mo mag test run ka ng asics tpos wag kna bumalik.. pamasko m n sa akin. Thenks

    hehehe. mag speed work muna ako para bumilis ako.

  5. bobby says:

    naks, continuation ng shopping spree. ayus yung naisip ni smith ah, ako size 11, stability ha hehehe…

    hahaha. isa ka pa. baka hindi na ako makabalik niyan ng US

  6. Gigi says:

    NICE ONE! Wilbert! Runner na runner naman kasi hitsura mo kaya sa “FAST” group ka…Excited na din ako pumunta diyan – gusto ko na din bumili ng bagong shoes and gear šŸ™‚ Woohoo!

    thanks Gigi! excited na rin ako for you. going stateside tayo ngayon!

  7. kulitrunner says:

    wow, kaganda naman ng running shoes ever! huy baka next time ang blog mo tungkol na sa mga review mo ng mga napapamili mo dyan ha. šŸ™‚

    thanks KR. iwan na lang natin yung mga product reviews sa mga experts. hehe hanggang wardrobe report at pictures lang ako. šŸ˜‰

  8. sundaywarrior says:

    Hi Wilbert, nice shoes there, Brooks and Saucony is still quite popular there kaya good choice yan, good luck on your run..

    thanks Chito. I saw in RW na best buy ang Brooks GTS 8.

  9. witchkitty says:

    Good luck on your St. Patrick’s race!

    thanks Chaia! šŸ™‚

  10. m8parco@yahoo.com says:

    Parang sanay na sanay ka na sa lamig. Baka mahirapan ka pag balik mo dito. I can just hear your complain “It’s berry hat in the Pilifines”

    Hehehehehe.

    Inggit na inggit kami but we are very happy for you.

    Regards Mark & Tiffin

    hahaha. yeah, it’s so hot in Manila. thanks! say hi to Tiffin for me.

Leave a Reply

