Injured Me

I am signing-up for the injury list. After Tuesday night’s Nike Clinic, I finally decided to schedule a doctor’s appointment tomorrow to have my foot checked.

Our workout consisted of 5x400m warm-up, drills and finally 3x(4x400m) with 2 mins rest per rep and 400m walk per set. First set, no problem. On the second set, I felt a slight pain on the arch on my right foot to my heel and I was only able to do 3 400m. On the last set I was already tiptoeing and managed to do just 1 400m. As much as I would want to complete 12 400m my foot won’t let me. I told Coach Rio about it and he said that this could be plantar fasciitis.

I went home, iced my foot and found this on the net:

plantar

When your first few steps out of bed in the morning cause severe pain in the heel of your foot, you may have plantar fasciitis (fashee-EYE-tiss). It’s an overuse injury affecting the sole or flexor surface (plantar) of the foot. A diagnosis of plantar fasciitis means you have inflamed the tough, fibrous band of tissue (fascia) connecting your heel bone to the base of your toes.”

Sourced from AAOS

This injury is not new to me. I had have been experiencing (and ignoring) the pain even before I got hooked to running. I would play volleyball 3 to 4 times a week and would have difficulty taking my first few steps out of bed the morning after. But now the pain is more frequent and I need to seek an expert’s advice before it gets worse. I just hope the doctor would still allow me to run my last race on Sunday.

11 thoughts on “Injured Me

  1. DATC says:

    Sorry to hear that, hope your foot feels well enough to run on Sunday.

    thanks. i also don’t want to miss my last race before i leave.

  2. i2runner says:

    Hi Wilbert,

    I’ve been experiencing plantar fasciitis before, but in my case I think the cause was the wrong bending of my running shoes. If you squeeze your shoes from toe to heel, it should naturally bend around the forefoot area, where your toes bend at the ball of your foot. If it bends at the middle, I think it could be the cause… Kindly look at the link below where I posted pictures of shoes that bends in the middle and in the forefoot: http://takbo.ph/index.php?option=com_fireboard&Itemid=26&func=view&id=1342&catid=29&limit=10&limitstart=10

    That is just prevention. If you already have the problem, do the usual RICE. After it heals completely, you should strengthen it by “towel curls”. What I do is hold my feet with my hands, then use my hands as resistance, and then curl my toes.

    Thanks Natz! I now regularly do RICE and it helps ease the pain. One of my friends also suggested using orthotics.

  3. dhenztm says:

    I also had that injury back during my hip-hop dancing days hehe. It took a while before it completely healed but I was still able to do a 5K race with this injury (partially healed). Kaya mo yan RICE lang!

    yep. RICE na nga lang para makatakbo sa Sunday.

  4. run unltd. says:

    Rest easy Wilbert, by sunday it will be okay. See you then.

    thanks Vener. see you on Sunday.

  5. bobby says:

    welcome to the club wil…RICE lang…at kung masakit pa rin before sunday, try taping it. Just look it up sa net for tips on proper taping techniques. mawawala yan pag punta mo ng seattle, malamig dun eh hehehe…

    sino ba ang president ng club na ito? hehehe

  6. jdcanono says:

    Sorry to hear about the injury. Hope you will be well enough to run you last race before Seattle.

    thanks Jesse. See you on Sunday.

  7. mae says:

    hi! 2 years ago, when i was just starting i also suffered from plantar fasciitis due to poor cushioning of my shoes. my officemate and a fellow runner gave me a rubberized heel support which she bought from subic after the race. it took me only a while and it is now completely healed. i’m using it until now even though i’ve already bought a new pair of running shoes. i hope this tip works.

    Thanks for dropping by Mae. I went to the doctor this morning and also adviced me to get a heel support. I will also be bringing my running shoes on my next visit for him to check if it is the right one for me.

  8. Wayne says:

    Wilbert, hopefully you’re running while this post is being typed. Plantar is no fun. I experienced it several years ago but wasn’t out of action long.

    Take care and hope the race works out well.

    Thanks Wayne. I was able to run today with heel cups. 🙂

  9. m8parco says:

    Wilbert – Welcome to the club. when I increase my mileage too much I usually get Plantar Fascitiis. I’ve decided to run less and it is much better.

    Regards Mark & Tiffin

    P.S. bon voyage and update your blog when you are there.

    Mark and Tiffin, na-miss ko kayo last Sunday. I will be in Nike Clinic tomorrow. Hope to see you there before I leave.

  10. MJ M says:

    Arggh, injuries suck! I hope your foot is better now. It was great seeing you too at the Bull Run 🙂 I saw so many blogger-runners though I couldn’t match all faces with the blogs.

    Happy running!

    Warm regards, MJ

    Nice seeing you MJ. 🙂

  11. sundaywarrior says:

    Hi Wilbert nice meeting you too this morning, unfortunately it’s also goodbye he he, anyway bon voyage!

    Hi Chito! Kitakits sa next Singapore Marathon?

Leave a Reply

